Disney Princess Inspired Quiet Book: Tangled Hair Page Pattern and Tutorial

IMG_3733 IMG_3734I’m super pleased with how this page turned out.  This page was inspired by a quiet book page I found through Pinterest.  Don’t forget to check out my completed Disney Princess Inspired Quiet Book!

NOTE: When I created the quiet book, I completed all the pages and then sewed them together.  That means that each of the pages has about 1/2 inch on three sides that will “disappear” when sewn to the next page.  The fourth side will be used for binding the book together.  You can see the finished book here.  The instructions for the binding will be in a future post.

THESE PATTERNS ARE FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY AND NOT FOR SALE.  YOU MAY NOT MAKE ITEMS FOR SALE OR PROFIT.  IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SHARE THESE QUIET BOOK PAGES, PLEASE GIVE ME CREDIT BY LINKING TO MY PAGE.

Materials:

– felt (light purple, dark purple, cream)

– yarn

– ribbon

– tiny hair clips

– thread

– glue

– Hair Page Pattern

Instructions:

1. Trim the background light purple felt so it is 10 inches by 8 1/2 inches (this will be the standard size for all the pages in this quiet book).

IMG_34492. Cut out the doll, top, and skirt and glue together.  Once dry, glue the doll in place on the background page.

 

 

 

 

3.  Add the hair.  I never would have known how to do this until I found some instructions on this page.  The instructions were enough to help me figure it out, but I wanted to add some extra detail sharing what I leaned in the process.  🙂

IMG_3488Cut about 21 strands of yarn that are 17 inches long.  Place over the doll’s head as shown in the picture.  (Don’t mind the little chunk taken out of the corner of the purple.  When I made this page I trimmed it after these steps.  The little chunk is actually from where I cut out the dress top.)

 

 

IMG_3490Cut off the doll’s head from the paper pattern and pin over top.  This will act as your guide so you know where to sew.  Sew around the paper circle.

 

 

 

 

IMG_3492Cut 12 more 17 inch strands of yarn and place on the top of the head as shown in the picture and sew in place.

 

 

 

 

IMG_3494Fold the top chunk of hair down, and braid.  I used a small piece of yarn to tie the braid.

Cut the ribbon to 8 1/2 inches and sew in place on each side.  I’d also recommend sewing a few stitches in the middle of the ribbon just to anchor it in place.

 

 

 

IMG_37314. Now for the hair accessories!  The flowers and ribbons can really be any colours you like.  Cut out the flowers – I did three large ones, two small ones – and then made two bows.

 

 

 

 

IMG_37295. Sew or glue the flowers onto the mini hair clips.  (My daughter got to the clips before I took a picture so the packaging is a bit torn up!)

 

 

 

 

IMG_3732I added some “pearls” to the centers of the flowers for fun.  I had bought these pearls from Stampin’ Up! years ago, but probably most craft stores would have something you could use.

 

 

 

 

IMG_3734Clip the flowers and bows to the ribbon and the page is done!

 

Binding instructions for my book will be in a future post!

 

 

IMG_0259My daughter is enjoying this page and often brings me the clips to put in her hair.  It makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

