Deleted!!!

A couple days ago I figured it was time to post another tutorial for my Disney Princess Inspired Quiet Book.  I went to look at the pictures I had taken…and they weren’t there…neither were ANY of the pictures I had put on my computer!!!!  They were just GONE!!!

The entire folder had just been deleted.  I don’t know how.  It might have been through my daughter keyboard smashing.  Whatever the cause, I was instantly in shock.  Where were my pictures?  Would I be able to get them back?

The really upsetting part: all of the pictures we had taken of my daughter since she was born were on my computer!  We had backed up some of them onto an external hard drive – June 2013 to October 2013.  And everything from Easter is still on the cameras.  But November 2013 to April 2014 might be gone forever!

I could just cry! 😥

We have done a system recovery to try to get as much as we can back.  I am not touching my laptop until I know that we have recovered every possible photo and video.  So far we have found about 7 000 pictures.  I don’t know if about videos yet.  Now to go through them and see how much is actually there.

What I have learned…

  • BACK UP EVERYTHING!!!

Not too long ago my phone was smashed and I lost all the photos (good thing there weren’t many) on that phone.  I now have it set up to back any pictures up automatically.

We have an external hard drive that we have been backing up and then taking over to my parents’ house just to have it out of the house, but I think we are going to purchase a second one so that we can back stuff up a bit more often.  I’m thinking that any time I need to delete the pictures off my phone will be a good time to back up the pictures.

  • KEEP THINGS IN PERSPECTIVE

Before I knew that we could do a system recovery, and then while we were waiting the several hours for it to complete, I started thinking about my own baby pictures and how there aren’t tons, but it really doesn’t matter.  How often do I go back and look at them?  Not all that often, to be honest.  Yes, pictures are wonderful things to have, but they aren’t what make the memories.  Just think about our great great grandparents: they didn’t have access to today’s digital cameras, but they enjoyed life and made memories just the same.

I still really hope that we are able to recover all the photos and videos though!  I’ll keep you posted.

Has something like this ever happened to you?  Have you created a routine for backing up your pictures?  Any tips and tricks you’d care to share?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Deleted!!!

  1. Oh no Faye! This happened to a friend of mine and me the same week – our hard drives crashed. Neither of us could recover photos without paying many hundreds to thousands. BUT thankfully enough people had at least some photos from important times. I now back up my computer every time I upload photos off my camera or phone. And I thought the same thing about our grandparents. Sometimes I look at photos and realize I have SO many within a couple if days of the same expression/pose of my kids. Haha! Sometimes now I just take less pictures….

    • I’m so sorry to hear that you weren’t able to recover your pictures!!! That’s great that other people were able to give you pictures from special events.

      I’m definitely guilty of taking tons of pictures too! Haha! Sometimes I need to remind myself to put the camera away and just enjoy the moment. But I still LOVE being able to take pictures and videos too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Disney Princess Inspired Quiet Book: Snow White Pages FREE Pattern and Tutorial | Mommy Imaginings

Leave a Reply

