Let’s Make a Mess!

I’m not exactly sure why it is called Cloud Dough…maybe because it is SUPER soft!  It reminds me of our honeymoon to the Cook Islands.  One of the islands, Aitutaki, is considered to have the most beautiful lagoon (it really is absolutely gorgeous!)…and the softest sand.feetOh to be able to escape this never ending winter and sit on a beach and enjoy the sand…but I’m getting off topic…cloud dough!

Because we are often stuck inside because of the weather, I try to do some sort of new activity with E every few days.  I had seen several recipes on Pinterest for Cloud Dough and since it looked like fun, I decided to give it a try.  E is still at the stage where everything goes in her mouth so I used cooking oil instead of baby oil.

All I needed was two ingredients: flour and oil.  In a bowl I mixed up 2 cups of all-purpose flour and 1/4 cup canola oil.  I then put it into a dish that was a bit more suitable for little hands to reach in.  We stripped E down to her diaper and let her at it.

IMG_3297 IMG_3313

 

 

 

 

 

She LOVED it!  It was so much fun watching her!  She did try eating a bit of it, but since it doesn’t taste all that great, not too much got in her mouth.  The kitchen floor got messy and she needed a bath afterwards, but she had a fantastic time!

What a great sensory activity for our 9 1/2 month old!

 

Leave a Reply

